A tribute to Chris McCandless – Alexander SuperTramp.

I remember feeling quite haunted the first time I saw this image after watching the wonderful film, Into The Wild. The film itself was very well done and I was quite taken aback by the story. Seeing this image at the end of the movie and realizing it was in fact a true story just heightened the impact of the film for me and began my quest of finding out everything I could about the story of this inspirational man.

For those who have not seen the film Into The Wild or read the book of the same name Chris Mccandless was a very intelligent man who always shined academically. In 1990, He donated $24,000 that was meant for his college fund given to him by his parents, to Oxfam after graduating and began his travels under the name Alexander Supertramp.

This blog post seems apt given the nature of my previous posts about the way the world is and Alexander is someone who acted on these qualms by escaping his life and ‘living off the land.’ Alexander almost drifted through his adventures; hitchhiking a lot of the way and meeting many people in the process. He would stop to work if he needed money for equipment and then move on whenever he felt ready.

It’s hard to describe quite what it is that makes me so found of his adventures and ideals. I guess its the freedom that he so often illustrated, that nothing had to be set in stone and that we can so easily just fall into the repetitiveness of many of life’s ‘shoulds’ and ‘ought tos’ It is so common (myself included) to hear many people complaining about many things but doing very little to change because “that’s just the way it is.”

Alexander is someone who captures the freedom, adventure and self-sufficiency of us all, but unfortunately it is something which is so rarely put into action. I believe that many of the worlds aspects has changed how we are as people for the worst. We live by expected norms and are afraid to take risks and listen to our own voice over those of others.

Rather than love, than money, than fame, give me truth

Henry David Thoreau quotes (American Essayist, Poet and Philosopher, 1817-1862)

I think this quote can be adapted not just to communication but our way of life too. If we are true to ourselves and those around us then I think that things would be in such a better place than we currently stand. Unfortunately we have created a society which is run by greed, lies, profit and power and when something is based on these things, we get to a position like we are in today and I think there has to be a climax where all this changes and we have to re-find our true values.

As always, I will take my words as a kick-start to re-tune my values and live by the ways that I think are true but I think it always important to be aware of ourselves and those around us and the relationships we have and create. If we do good to ourselves and those around us then it will not take long for this to become the norm and base our society on much stronger and longer lasting values.

~ by justprose on November 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
